top of page
  • Writer's pictureJasmine Pankratz

Becker's Bunkhouse, A Hidden Kansas Gem

Updated: Aug 13, 2020

I have an obsession with beautiful things that come with a historic story. And I hit the jackpot in Medora, Kansas. Yes, you read that right - Medora, Kansas. I was tempted not to write this because I wanted to keep this hidden Kansas gem all to myself - but it would be selfish not to share.


When I walked through the door of this building, I was engulfed in history and beauty everywhere I turned. A captivating mural was the first thing to grab my attention but my eyes soon went to the handmade jewelry, cowtown replicas, vintage clothing and collection of saddles that the room was filled with from the floor to the ceiling.


The hairs on my arms stood up as I sensed the presence of the ghosts that have passed through the building in the last century. I could smell the aged leather, I could hear the cowboys of the past yelling at their cattle and I could faintly hear the chants of Native Americans as they celebrated their heritage.


Steven Becker, former district court judge and state representative, is the owner of the building called Becker’s Bunkhouse. He has spent years collecting beautiful items that pay tribute to Kansas’ history that fill the building.


“Growing up in the 1950s it seems like everybody played cowboys and Indians - I know I certainly did,” said Becker. “As I got older I never lost that desire. I’ve always been drawn to the cowboy lifestyle, which is why I started collecting.”


Becker began seriously working to collect antiques after he and his wife decided to refinish their basement for a man cave. Before too long the basement was full of items and so was the storage unit Becker had rented for extra space.



The two-story building that now houses Becker’s collection was built in 1907 by the Ranson family as a hotel for the Medora Junction, the town located at the junction of two railroad lines. It was one of the first buildings built and is the last original structure standing.


The paved road in 1919 changed the town and in the late 1930s, the hotel was transformed into a service station and garage. In 1950 it became a grocery store and remained until the 1990s. Becker bought the building in 2003.


“I saw the building for sale and was so afraid that someone would buy it and bulldoze it down and I thought it would be a great place to store my toys so I could play with them,” said Becker. “That’s how the store came about.”


Becker’s original dream for the building was to turn the second floor into a “cowboy dive” where coffee and food would be served. However, due to the way the building is structured and the necessary alterations required to meet regulations prevented the development of the dream. Becker occasionally serves meals to private groups.


Instead, Becker filled the building with his saddle collection which includes vintage saddles made by famous makers more than a century ago, all sizes of worn-out chaps, quality vintage jackets, shirts and hats, western artwork including originals and limited edition prints and several other fascinating items.



“I’ve never been a real cowboy, I’ve just spent my life being a wannabe,” said Becker. “Kansas is so rich in cowboy history with old cowtowns used for longhorn cattle drives, that’s the part I like.”


He has used his influence in politics to honor the cowboys of Kansas.


In 2014, Kansas became only the 8th state in the U.S. to recognize the National Day of the Cowboy, celebrated on the fourth Saturday of July. Today, it remains only one of 15 states to do so. And Becker was part of that initiative.


In 2008, the western antique store was listed on the National Register of Historic Places as an act of preserving history. That same year the Bunkhouse, which sits less than 30 feet from old K-61 between Hutchinson and Mcpherson, took a drastic hit when the new highway that went around Medora opened up.


“There was a lot of traffic by the bunkhouse when I first bought it,” said Becker. “People at least knew I was here. But on the day they opened the new highway, the traffic was gone and everyone started driving around Medora. People have forgotten I’m here.”


I have driven by the building countless times and probably would have never gone inside if it wasn’t for a friend that told me I could find a jacket with fringe in the store. And let me tell you all, not only did I find the most incredible jacket, I could have spent all day in the building and quite possibly spent all of my money as well.

The incredible jacket I was able to find for a great price.
The incredible jacket I was able to find for a great price


“Business is really slow but this is just a hobby for me,” said Becker. “I don’t make an income here, I just have fun showing my collection to those who are interested and once in a while I will sell something.”


I highly recommend checking out this historic building filled with stories and treasures on a Friday or Saturday when Becker is there. Or feel free to give him a call or check him out on Facebook. And if you’re a fan of mine, you can find clothes that I have worn for sale at this incredible store.



240 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Pinky Busick
Bob Jones
Floyd Rumford
Today's Rodeo
bottom of page