top of page
  • Writer's pictureJasmine Pankratz

How did I get here?

Updated: Jun 3, 2020

I wouldn’t be me if I didn't take a moment to reflect on my story and how I got here.... and it's a pretty incredible story if I do say so myself.

The last two years...

I spent most of my first year in Lawrence, Kansas, wishing I was somewhere else. I spent a lot of time feeling pretty lonesome and listening to Dolly Parton, Glen Campbell and Merle Haggard sing about their big city blues on repeat.


That first semester, I worked 5 jobs to pay for rent and school. I didn't know how to make friends and I didn't have the time to worry about it. I was now in a city of 87,000 people, coming from Abbyville, Kansas. Population 87.


I lost myself for awhile. I didn't know how to be a little fish in a great big ocean. I didn't know how to be a nobody so outside of my comfort zone. I no longer believed my dream was worthy of all the dues I had to pay.


Of course, God met me right where I was.


He gave me a job as a receptionist at a salon where I met amazing women that took care of me. He made me a student-athlete tutor where I met my best friends and future roommate. He placed me in a bible study with two girls I knew from Juco that came to KU to play basketball and related to my pain.


I wasted a lot of time feeling sorry for myself that first year. I now know that KU was the best thing for me.


I worked with incredible sports information directors for KU Athletics where I received some really great advice. I got to assist and learn from legendary journalists. I met Chris Harris Jr., Jim Ryun, Holly Rowe and realized that they were all just people with a story to tell - just like me.


I found my place in the Journalism school after struggling for an entire year. My professors won’t forget me - that’s a fact.


I learned a lot about who I want to be as a journalist. I want to see the value in every story I tell and the difference it has the potential to make. I don’t ever want to be telling stories that benefit me. Paul Harvey once said, “Self-importance has ruined more good journalists than bad liquor.”


Instead of working 5 jobs this year, I got to travel to 3 major professional rodeos to help with the production of the live event. I’m a minority student graduating with a 3.9 GPA from a state school with a Bachelor’s of science in Journalism, minoring in sports management.


If you know me, you know just how hard that was for me. And I couldn’t have done it without so many people.


 
Words are the most crucial part of the career I’ve chosen.

I’ve been trained to speak, write and hear words in the most effective way. Throughout my journey, I’ve had some truly powerful words spoken over me. I’ve written all of them down. If you ever took the time to tell me you believe in me or provided me with words of encouragement - I promise I’ll hold onto them forever. I always will.


“Look over the field before you decide what to plant.” - Mrs. Knoefel

Where it all started, in Abbyville, KS

Every year, I receive a scholarship from the Kansas Association of Broadcasters. It’s competitive - every journalism student at every college in the state of Kansas applies for it. I have been a recipient since my freshman year of college (I applied not even knowing what receiving it would mean besides money). Last year, the president of the board approached me and told me that I was one of the very few freshmen to ever receive it.


I was awarded as a Fairfield High school graduate, with no experience whatsoever, who kept telling people her major would be “sideline reporting” (not a major lol). THAT girl was a product of Abbyville, Kansas. My evident work ethic and politeness won over that interview. I couldn’t be more proud to be from Abbyville. When I get those big city blues, I'll be dreaming of Kansas prairies and Carolyn's sweet tea.


“No one else is you.” - HC golfer

My Anchor Inn family

The Anchor Inn mexican restaurant will always be a home to me. I started waitressing there as a senior in high school and throughout college I’d return to make some extra cash to get me through the month. It gave me a sense of connection to the hispanic part of me and words truly can’t express what that means to me. I know I’ll always have a place at the Anchor.


Greg and Tish - I can’t thank you enough for always answering my phone calls when I’m lost in the airport, have an empty stomach or have a question about how to make tamales. Don’t worry, I’ll still call once a week just to make Greg get up to get the phone and make sure he’s working.


“Are you still struggling? Join the crowd. Don’t lose your sanity or your faith over the complexities of life.” - Evan Oswald

The Abbyville Coop, My first real job

Thank you for my very first job. Thank you for worrying about me (probably mostly because of the stupid questions I ask). Thank you for all the time spent helping me with articles I’m writing, car troubles and always changing my oil or pumping my gas whenever I ask. Thank you for letting me work harvest every year, even when I was practically useless. I’ll be over there soon to pay off my vending machine tab.


“You were the Larks Vince Scully.” - HC baseball grandparent

Hesston College, Juco forever

Where do I even start? I’ll tell anyone who gives me the opportunity that Juco was the best decision I ever made.


Dustin & Marissa Galyon - Thank you for being the reason I came to Hesston. God truly intervened on my behalf when I met you coach Galyon. Thank you for always being there to help me process tough choices and for bailing me out a couple of times (I still owe you a tank of gas lol). Marissa, thank you for listening to my heart and all of the endless great advice.


Rusty - Thank you for taking a chance on me and for being my first true fan. Commentating alongside you for football, basketball, baseball and softball games was an experience that I’ll cherish forever.


The Lark Baseball team - Ya’ll made me fall in love with a sport that I knew nothing about. I grew to love it, not because of the game, but because of the players. I loved it because of the incredible stories I got to tell and the hard work and passion I saw go into it. Sophomore year, there were 33 guys on the baseball roster who believed in my ability to be the next Erin Andrews and continue to be a fan of mine. For that, I’m forever grateful and I’ll always be a fan, on and off the field.


Mod 2CN - The dorms gave me my forever friends who made me laugh until I couldn’t breathe and listened to me cry until I had no tears left. Ky, Carissa and Jos, I would do anything to relive one of those nights, going for a sonic run and staying up all night talking about faith, school, the future and stupid boys. I cannot wait to see what God does with each of your beautiful lives. I am so thankful to call you my friends.


“God is the most amazing journalist - and He’s writing your story.” - Dad

Last, but certainly not least, my family

Thank you for loving me despite all of the times I was pretty unloveable. Whatever it was that you saw in me when we first met and convinced you that I was worthy of this family is something that I hope I never lose. Thank you for always being there while I tried to find myself and for understanding the sense of belonging yet yearning to belong that conflicts me.


Thank you for all of the prayers that have brought me exactly to where I’m at today. Those prayers saved me.


I love you all.


276 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

trust.

Pinky Busick
Bob Jones
Floyd Rumford
Today's Rodeo
bottom of page